<<< Welcome to Enoch Seminar Online >>> The site includes: (a) scholarly FORUMS among specialists; (b) PAPERS from our international meetings; and (c) REVIEWS & NEWS from the field of Second Temple Judaism & Christian Origins.

Founded in 2001, the Enoch Seminar is an academic group of international specialists in Second Temple Judaism and Christian Origins, who share the results of their research in the field and meet to discuss topics of common interest.

[ Please, REGISTER to visit the site and receive information on the activities of the Enoch Seminar. TO BE A FRIEND, MEMBER OR VETERAN OF THE ENOCH SEMINAR and have access to the papers online, please see MEMBERSHIP ]

The Enoch Seminar Online is a new kind of website. It is both an archive of all papers presented at the meetings of the Enoch Seminar, and an online journal of news, reviews and other original contributions. The basic information is available to all readers, while more specialized material is accessible only to subscribers (Friends, Members, and Veterans of the Enoch Seminar).

The Enoch Seminar focuses on the period of Jewish history, culture and literature from the Babylonian Exile to the Bar-Kochba revolt—the period in which both Christianity and Rabbinic Judaism have their roots. The goal is to tear down the misleading walls of separation that still divide this field of research, recovering the unity and integrity of the period. Enoch is the symbol of this inter-canonical and inter-disciplinary effort, as he is present in each and all of the canons that anachronistically divide sources from the period: Old Testament, Apocrypha, Pseudepigrapha, Dead Sea Scrolls, Jewish-Hellenistic literature, New Testament, Apostolic Fathers, etc.

It is a shared commitment by the members of the Enoch Seminar that the study of this crucial period offers an important contribution to the understanding of the common roots of Judaism, Christianity and Islam and therefore to better relations among them.

Participation at the meetings Enoch Seminar is by invitation only and is restricted to University professors and specialists in Second Temple Judaism and Christian Origins who have completed their PhD. To graduate students and PhD candidates, the Enoch Seminar offers a biennial meeting (the Enoch Graduate Seminar). In 2009, the Enoch Seminar has launched "4 Enoch: The Online Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism and Christian Origins," and in 2012, a new series of small-size seminars, the "Nangeroni Meetings."

The Enoch Seminar is currently chaired by Gabriele Boccaccini (University of Michigan), Loren Stuckenbruck (Princeton Theological Seminary), Matthias Henze (Rice University), Pierluigi Piovanelli (University of Ottawa), Kelley Bautch, (St. Edward's University), and Carlos Segovia (Camilo José Cela University). It is made possible by major funding from the Alessandro Nangeroni International Endowment and the Michigan Center for Early Christian Studies.

Long-time Members of the Enoch Seminar are Daniel Assefa (Ethiopia), Giovanni Bazzana (United States), Albert I. Baumgarten (Israel), Kelley Coblentz Bautch (United States), Andreas Bedenbender (Germany), Gabriele Boccaccini (United States), Daniel Boyarin (United States), James Charlesworth (United States), Adela & John Collins (United States), James R. Davila (Scotland), Devorah Dimant (Israel), Lorenzo DiTommaso (Canada), Lutz Doering (England), Hanan & Esther Eshel (Israel), Ida Fröhlich (Hungary), Charles Gieschen (United States), Lester L. Grabbe (England), Matthias Henze (United States), Martha Himmelfarb (United States), Michael Knibb (England), Klaus Koch (Germany), Robert A. Kraft (United States), Alexander Kulik (Israel), Helge Kvanvig (Norway), Paul Mandel (Israel), Luca Mazzinghi (Italy), George W.E. Nickelsburg (United States), Gerbern S. Oegema (Canada), Andrei A. Orlov (United States), Pierluigi Piovanelli (Canada), Lawrence H. Schiffman (United States), Michael Stone (Israel), Paolo Sacchi (Italy), Carlos Segovia (Spain), Michael Stone (Israel), Loren T. Stuckenbruck (Germany), David Suter (United States), James C. VanderKam (United States), Benjamin Wright (United States), and Azzan Yadin (United States).